Why Cloth Diapers Make Me a Better Christian

Ok. I’m totally joking, but I am curious about something.

Does being hippie (ie: using cloth diapers, reusable shopping bags, and eco friendly products) have any bearing on my faith or vice versa?

I grew up in a town that isn’t quite what you’d call environmentally friendly. The most common vehicles are gargantuan trucks, pulling out a reusable grocery bag will get you the strangest looks, people insist on having green lawns even though the record temperature is 130 degrees, and Toyota Prius’ are like an endangered species. I have to admit that I love big trucks too, but you get my point.

In contrast, I now live in super-hippie-ville. If you DON’T bring a reusable bag you are given a weird look, people driving big trucks are often confronted in parking lots for being evil, people tend to let native plants grow (although things actually grow here without a ton of water), and there are so many hybrids it’s crazy.

Right before I got pregnant a new friend mentioned that she cloth diapered her kiddos. I looked at her like she was a crazy person, but since we were planning on starting a family soon, I asked her about it. She assured me that it was pretty easy and wouldn’t be a big deal. When I found out I was pregnant I started researching them and not only is it easy, they are cute! To be honest I decided to cloth diaper for the savings and a little bit for the environment. I have continued to cloth diaper because it really is pretty easy, but also because so many people told me I couldn’t/wouldn’t do it.

As I’ve entered into the world of cloth diapers I have become greener in other parts of my life. I even made my own deodorant! When I go home to visit I have to be careful not to be judgmental because of how un-green people are. So…does all of this have anything at all to do with being a Christian?

1 Corinthians 4:1
Let a man so consider us, as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God.

Often the Bible talks about us being good stewards. Whether it be of money or our talents or the “mysteries of God.” I believe this has to do with our world too. I’m not so concerned about global warming or any other such problem. (I believe that the earth is warming up, I just don’t believe that man can really affect change on an entire celestial body.) However; if I am supposed to be a good steward that should include every part of my life. I make an effort to be ecofriendly because that’s how I can take care of this amazing planet that God gave us. I like that cloth diapers help reduce waste in landfills because I want to keep God’s creation beautiful for all to enjoy not because I’m some hippie who thinks the world is coming to an end. I think it would be wise to evaluate some of our behaviors and see if we are truly being good stewards of God’s creation.

I think people on both sides of the eco-debate should be less judgemental of each other and instead focus on what they are doing to make a difference.

What do you think?

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

One response to “Why Cloth Diapers Make Me a Better Christian

  • Melissa Wilson

    I Love this!! I want to share share share this info!!! It is soooo true!! Once we take a step into being more aware of the impact we are making, not only does it save us money as a family, but it also helps us become more aware of what else in our lives God is calling to be better stewards of!!! Wonderful!!!

Leave a comment