Slowing Down

slowdown

Life happens so quickly. Days turn into months which turn into years. The fact that it is already January of 2016 is mind boggling to me. But it’s always that way. As the kids get older, time only seems to move faster.

One thing I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is slowing down. This time of year always seems to be hectic, life with littles always seems to be hectic, life seems to be hectic. I don’t want to ‘busy’ ourselves right through life.

So, I’m going to focus on slowing down. I’m not sure what that means really. I think it can mean something different for everyone and every family. But here’s some things I would like to do:

  • Be intentional about activities. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but we could schedule every second of every day with some activity. A Jennie Allen study (Stuck) I did awhile ago talked about praying over your activities and seeking wisdom on which you should do. I want to be that intentional. Because life gets too full and often times they are all good things. But that doesn’t mean I’m supposed to participate in all of them
  • Be intentional about each day. Life moves so quickly and when I look back, I see a list of things I didn’t do. As a mom – and a mom who plans on homeschooling – the list of things I haven’t done with the boys is right up front. I am learning not to compare myself to others and I am truly not worried about what the boys do or do not know. However, I haven’t been intentional and there are lots of things I am committing to actually make happen this year. If I build habits and a routine, we will all grow to count on them. Things like reading aloud, listening to the Bible, memorizing scripture, and serving others are all things I’d like to work in.
  • Enjoy the moments I can. Every moment with littles is not perfect and happy. Some days are down right terrible. But when I focus on all the things that are going wrong, it makes things even worse. I learned when I was teaching middle school that my attitude drastically affected my students’. If I could rally on even the toughest days, it always turned around. I am trying to take deep breaths and focus on the positive moments at home. And of course, today is a perfect day to practice what I preach.
  • Rest. Ha! With 3 kids?! But yes. I need to be intentional about my time and that includes rest. For some reason, I always feel guilty about rest. I feel like there is always something I could be doing. But you know what? I can’t be the best me or have a positive outlook or be efficient if I’m not well rested. I am working on finding rest in each day.
About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

