Parenting Surprises

So, we’ve officially been parents for almost 4 months. We’ve been married for more than 8 years. I am blessed to have the best husband in the entire world (I’m obviously biased, but he really is the best). We have an amazing relationship and have become really good about communicating with each other.

One great thing about our relationship is that neither of us have a need for anything especially fancy. For our anniversaries we go to Taco Bell and then shop together at Target for a small present. Our idea of a date night is going to Best Buy and checking out all the gadgets or going to a car dealership and getting them to let us drive a new car.

Since Little Man was born, many of our friends have offered to watch him so we could go out. So far we haven’t taken anyone up on that offer other than a few times that my parents have watched him for a short period of time. Some of that is because I am a control freak and I obviously like being the one to take care of Bubba. I consider that to be pretty normal parenting issues.

The surprises? Among other crazy, hormonal, new mom issues I feel bad that I actually want to leave him. I feel like only a bad mom could need a break this badly. I know that my feelings are irrational and absurd, but that doesn’t make them any less there. I just really need some time with Damien that isn’t centered around the baby. I’ve always known that it’s important to make sure you take time for your marriage even when you have kids, but I never expected to feel bad about it. Now I just need to trust God to deal with my ridiculous emotions and make sure I am taking care of my son, my marriage, and my self.

Anyone want to babysit? 😉

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

