Reflections and Thanksgiving

This month is national novel writing month (NaNoWriMo), but I am obviously not going to be writing a novel, so I’ll just try to post a little more consistently this month.

I am not a writer, but I know it’s important to write things down, reflect, and look back on things. I have always tried to keep a prayer journal, but I’m never very good at sticking with it. I do love looking back at old entries and remembering how God was working in our lives and how faithful he has been to answer prayers. I especially love looking back through old prayers that I hadn’t realized were answered and realizing that God had answered it, just not the way I thought He would/should. It sure is a good thing I’m not in charge!

I already can’t believe how much has happened in our little man’s life. First he was just the alien blob in my tummy that was kicking to get out, then he was the tiny newborn who was so perfect. Over the past several months he has discovered his own hands and feet, learned how to crawl, and is trying to sit up on his own. He’s starting to be a real little person instead of somewhat like a toy. The best was when he learned to smile and then laugh. His laughter has to be one of the best sounds ever. I don’t think I could ever get tired of that.

It’s crazy how much a baby changes everything. Damien and I have been married for more than 8 years and a baby still threw us a curveball. I am so thankful for a husband who understands and is patient during crazy mom hormone changes, irrational fears, and downright moodiness. We’ve learned a lot about communicating about what’s going on and I’ve learned that “I don’t know” and “I’m fine” are not going to magically tell him that I’m on the brink of tears or ready to run from the house screaming. Without his support, I don’t know where I would be. Probably locked up somewhere. Although it’s been tough, I wouldn’t trade any of it. I love watching Damien be the most amazing dad to our son. I love watching Bubba’s face light up when his dad walks in the door from work, and I love listening to Damien play guitar or sing to him so he’ll fall asleep.

Thank you November for bringing thanksgiving to the forefront. I would like to make it a point to be more thankful all year round.

Thank you Damien for being the best friend, husband, father, and supporter I could ever hope for. I love you.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

