Change is Hard

change-roadsign

Generally speaking, I like change. If I’ve been doing the same thing for a long time, I’ll try to intentionally change it up.

But this time – this change – is hard.

I’ll be honest. I want to go home. I miss my home. I miss my family. I miss my friends. I miss my doggy. I miss the boys having separate rooms. I miss AZ traffic (never thought I’d say that!). I miss the forests and trails. I miss everything that I’ve known for my entire life. I miss being able to call people for advice and not have to worry that it’s only 4, 5, or 6 in the morning there. I miss being comfortable in my own little world.

I’m trying my best not to complain, but I don’t want to act like everything is great and nothing is wrong. I don’t want to hide the fact that I bawled my eyes out last night while the little one was screaming and refusing to go to sleep (he has a cold).

I also don’t want to make it sound like I’m miserable. I am still excited that we are here. Damien’s job is awesome and I know he is really enjoying it. He really likes the people he works with, he’s actually busy and doing things he enjoys. Living in a big city is kind of fun. I love all of the parks, the zoo, the shopping. It’s fun having so much to do.

This is more change than I’ve ever had to deal with. It’s proving to be a lot harder to roll with the punches this time.

Part 2 will be coming soon.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

6 responses to “Change is Hard

  • The Vanilla Housewife

    Even when change is for the better, it can sometimes still be hard.

  • Valerie

    It would be odd to me if you DIDN’T miss those things you are missing. I missed some tons of things when I moved here (GA) from my home (MI). I’m sorry you aren’t feeling comfortable quite yet or like you are home, but I am very glad to hear your husband’s job is going so well! 🙂 You’re in my prayers, hon. xoxo

  • Tana

    Change is hard and getting used to the new takes time. It takes time to form new bonds, whether that be to your new friends, new stores or just a new routine. I remember when we first moved back to Phoenix, it was a good move for our family but I missed so many things for so long. I still miss my runs with Nell and my mom. Overtime though, your old place feels less and less like home as you grow roots in your new place. Connect with others, explore things and always know that there are more people in the world to know, be a blessing and be blessed by knowing you!

  • Coping | One Tech Mom

    […] shared yesterday that this move has been tough, but I wanted to share a little […]

Leave a Reply

