We Made It!

We made it to Tennessee!

We’ve been here for a week and half now and are mostly unpacked, getting settled, and finding our way around a new town.

It’s still a little weird being here. I’ve been on several two week mission trips across the country and overseas and I still feel like I’m on one of those trips. New culture, new place, I don’t know anyone. It’s starting to set in that this is for real. There won’t be a return trip where I go back to everything that is safe and comfortable.

On the other hand, I really do like it here so far. The culture feels a lot like Flagstaff, everyone is super friendly, and there are a lot of opportunities to do and visit cool things.

The biggest adjustment will be finding new friends. I finally felt like I had some great friends in Flagstaff and I am really going to miss them. They have been such an amazing support to me, especially since becoming a mom. I can be real with them. I can be honest about how I’m feeling or the things that are going on. It took years to build those friendships and I’m not looking forward to starting over. I’ve definitely shed some tears over that transition.

I know I’ll meet new people and I’m excited for that. But making friends and connecting with them is hard. It’s like elementary school all over again. Or more like junior high. Cliques are an impossible habit to break. And sometimes moms can be the most judgmental, read: hard to be honest around.

It also hasn’t hit home yet (literally) that family is so far away. We saw them a little less than once a month, so we haven’t reached the point of truly missing them. I know I took for granted how close they were, and over the next few months I’m going to realize just how far away they are.

I do have a few goals for this time of change:

  1. Roll with the punches. I want to let all the transition with family, friends, the boys, and even Damien’s hours at work (he doesn’t get home until 6 😦 ) go smoothly.
  2. Keep in touch. I am notoriously bad at keeping in touch, but I’d like to make a real effort to stay in touch with my friends – and Facebook stalking doesn’t count.
  3. Be vulnerable. If I want to make new friends, I have to be willing to open up. Much easier said than done.

    Welcome to Tennessee!

    Welcome to Tennessee!

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

2 responses to “We Made It!

Leave a Reply

