Big Changes for Little People

I wasn’t sure how the boys would react to all the changes.

I knew that little C would probably be affected mostly by the hustle and bustle of everything and the inevitability of a messed up nap schedule. He’s a pretty easy going kid, but he just hit his separation anxiety phase. I think it has a lot to do with how much has been going on lately and that we haven’t had time to just sit and play during the day like we normally do.  I’ll admit it’s been tough. I’ve been busy and stressed and him needing to be held constantly has been frustrating to say the least. I definitely need an extra dose of patience!

At first, I though Big C was taking everything in stride. We read the Berenstain Bear’s Moving Day and talked about the truck and packing and dad working for Dave. Even though I know he’s not old enough to understand everything about moving, he seemed to be enjoying all the excitement. Over the last few days we have had to say goodbye to all our friends (which has been tough on me!) and I feel like he kind of figured it out. He’s always been a mama’s boy and doesn’t like to be left with other people, but in the last few days, that has ramped up exponentially. People he knows well who have come over to play a million times were making him anxious – or really it was just any time I left the room. It’s been easy to get frustrated with him for being so clingy, but I just need to focus on how upside down his little world is right now and how much he needs me. Case in point – he came and gave me a hug on the couch and promptly fell asleep. He hasn’t fallen asleep on my lap since he was an infant. He just needs his momma, and let’s be honest, I need him.

Even I am having a hard time adjusting to the fact that we are really moving across the country, and the boys just need a little extra loving during this time of transition. It’s a great reminder to me to slow down and focus on what’s important. And that’s the two little boys who need me more than anyone else.

Please keep us in your prayers as we spend the next few weeks spending time with family, driving a TON, and then settling in to our new place. God has been so good to us throughout this journey and it’s not over yet.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

