Parenting is Tough

This parenting thing is tough – tougher than anything else I’ve ever done.

I try not to complain too much on social media when the boys are crazy. I try because I know that I can so easily get in a complaining streak or focus only on the negative and that’s not healthy for me or fair to the boys because they are pretty amazing. But then I feel like I give off a “I’ve got this parenting thing down perfectly” vibe and that couldn’t be further from the truth.

I still have no idea what I’m doing. I am often frustrated or out of patience or annoyed or just plain out of energy. Too often I find myself wanting to check a mobile device instead of sit down and play with the boys. It’s all too easy for me to be irritated that they interrupt a game or a show. Sometimes I have NO idea what they want or need and I find myself angry or upset.

Just this past week I was frustrated to the point of tears. Not just sniffles, but full on tears streaming down my face. I was a mess and of course dad was out of town. I had to leave the room and let the little one cry because I couldn’t handle it. I had to do some serious praying for patience, because mine was gone before he cried for an hour in the middle of the night.

All of this to say I can’t do this parenting thing on my own. I don’t mean without Damien, but I mean without Christ. He truly is my rock. At times when I humanly don’t have anything left, He gives me strength. He stretches my patience and gives me rest exactly when I need it. I can no longer count the number of times that he has provided for me when I needed it most. He encourages me when I think I’m doing it all wrong. He shows me my strengths when I am exhausted.

Too often I forget to give God credit. I don’t know what my life would look like without him, but it wouldn’t be pretty. He has saved me time and time again.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

One response to “Parenting is Tough

  • Heather Smith

    This is reality. Thank you for sharing your struggles. Know that you have others (myself, specifically) who share the same struggles as you. I, too, forget that God gets all the credit for the ‘good’ parts of myself. Only He leads me through these moments of parenthood (and every other, for that matter) that seem to strip everything bit of strength from me. Love ya, friend!

Leave a Reply

