Physical Training

1 Timothy 4:8 “For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”

This verse has been on my mind for a few days now.

I am finally (finally!) making some head way with my weight and working out. I’m on day 66 of the 90 day Power 90 session and I’m half way through week 6 of Body Back. For the first time in a long time I can genuinely say I am proud of myself. I’m proud of the work I’ve been putting in, the way I’ve been eating, and the results I’m seeing. I have finally built a routine with some consistency and I’ve been able to show restraint around food. I am so thankful for the determination that God has given me to see this through so I can be healthy for me, my family, and God.

However; it’s not enough.

I have wanted to get healthy and be more active for a long time and I am realizing those goals, but you know what? I still don’t feel satisfied. Weighing on my heart these last 3 months has been the fact that I have completely neglected my relationship with God. I resist spending time reading the Bible almost more strongly than I resisted working out. I don’t take time to focus and spend time in prayer. Instead I waste time and energy doing things that I don’t really want to be doing (like watching tv).

I want my life to reflect the man who saved it. I am nothing without Christ. He has blessed me in more ways than I can count and I want to live a life that honors Him. If only one thing in my life is where I want it to be, it needs to be my spiritual life not my physical life. After all my hard work, this is the last thing I want to admit to myself, but it’s true.

Moving forward I have two goals.

  1. I can’t undo all the hard work I’ve done. I need to be healthy for my family and God wants me to be healthy too. I know that I can continue to make good choices and I am.
  2. God needs to be a priority in my life. No more thanking Him for my blessings and going on with my day. I don’t need to suddenly spend hours studying my Bible, but I do need to take baby steps.

I have always tried to be a Christian who lives like Christ with my words and actions and not just somebody who ‘goes to church.’ It’s time I truly start doing that.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

5 responses to “Physical Training

  • Valerie

    Such an encouraging post. The fact that you are able to see where you need to improve in your relationship with Him is a very good sign that you’re open to change and yielding to how He wants your days to go. When do find it the best time to read your Bible? I was reading at night before bed, and it’s a lovely way to end the day and drift off to sleep afterwards, BUT I retain so much more if I read during the day, so I aam thinking of switching. Maybe early morning, as a start to my day. Hmm

  • Valerie

    I really enjoyed this post when you wrote it in March and also again today. It is true for me too lately. 😦 I needed to read this.

Leave a Reply

