New Year, New Goals

Obviously, I’m a little late to the game since it’s February 1st and not January 1st, but this year I wanted to actually accomplish the goals I set for myself. It doesn’t need to be the start of a new year, it needs to be the start of a new attitude.

My first goal is to get healthy. After 2 kids, that definitely includes losing weight, but I also just want to conquer my sugar cravings – especially saying no. I don’t want to cut out sugar entirely (although if that’s what it takes for awhile, so be it), but I do want to have more willpower when it comes to eating one cookie instead of six.

My second goal is to get and stay active. Generally speaking I have been accomplishing this goal since I started going to Stroller Strides with Fit Moms Flagstaff back when Big C was only 3 months old. I absolutely love being part of a group and have not only made great friends, but I’ve made it a habit to be active. This year though, I want to push my limits. I don’t want to just go and workout, I want to push myself to be better. This is definitely just an attitude adjustment. My biggest obstacle to working out the way I want to is all in my head. I am amazingly good at talking myself out of continuing. This year, I want to say no to that voice in my head telling me I can’t.

My third goal is to be more consistent with reading and studying my Bible. I want to live my life like Christ did, but it’s hard to do if I don’t read about the example He set for me or learn more about what He wants for me.

Instead of trying to tackle everything all at once, I want to work on them one at a time. And even if I hit some bumps along the way, I just want to try again instead of giving up until January 1st , 2014. I don’t want to give up.

Since it’s February 1st, I am happy to report that I have been successful with one goal so far. We ordered Power 90 (the precursor to P90x – and not specifically designed for athletes) and I started on the 14th. The program calls for us to workout 6 days a week and rest on the 7th day. So far, I have not missed a single day! And that includes being out of town for a whole week. Next week I will be starting Body Back with the Fit Moms Flagstaff crew and I’m so excited!! I need the group accountability to help push myself and this program will also be a huge help with my eating goals. Boot camp starts next week.

I have gone up and down with eating well. I do great for several days and then have a bad day or two. My biggest frustration is that no matter how well I do eating, that stupid number on the scale doesn’t move. Then, if I have even one bad snack, it shoots right up. I’m trying not to be obsessed with the number, but it is so hard to push past it. I do know that since starting P90 I have definitely gained some muscle, but that doesn’t really account for the lack of weight lost. My number one priority is to not give up. I have to treat each day like a new one and not give up just because I had a bad day yesterday or a bad week this week. Or even better – not give up on a whole day just because I made one bad choice.

For my third goal, I haven’t made any real effort, but I am starting a Bible study next week. My goal is to be consistent about going and actually read the material before I get there. I’m looking forward to learning new things with some good friends.

I may be a little late to the resolution game, but that’s the point. I’m not making resolutions for a new year. I’m making resolutions for today.

PS – Little C is doing great with some extra milk this week and I’ll be posting a full update after we visit the lactation consultant on Tuesday.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

4 responses to “New Year, New Goals

Leave a Reply

