Bumps in the Road

Little one just turned three months. It has been amazing watching him find his hands and smile and start to laugh. It is so fun when he smiles and coos at us, but even better when he gets excited to see his big brother. Amidst our lovely baby moon, we hit a slight bump.

Little C is in the less than first percentile (just like big brother was), but he actually didn’t gain enough weight in the past month so we went to see a lactation consultant. I was worried that they would want me to do one or both of a) wean big brother and/or b)supplement with formula. It’s not that I am unwilling to do either of those, but I didn’t want that to be the quick answer instead of investigating the real problem.

Thankfully, we eliminated problems like tongue tie or a sucking issue. It seems like it is definitely a supply issue. I was surprised because it seems like big brother can get whatever he wants, whenever he wants. However, sleeping through the night in the first month (I know, I know, but now I have to pump around the clock. I got my payback.) killed my supply. I didn’t really think about it because getting to sleep was so amazing. I should have realized that I needed to pump or do something at night. Lesson learned, that’s for sure.

I’ll supplement little one with pumped milk to help him get enough while I get my supply back up. I’m just so thankful that although the solution is time consuming, there are no issues with Little C and I don’t have to do either of the things I was dreading.

I could definitely use some prayers as I’m pumping all the time. I’m not sure how that’s going to fit into taking care of two boys. Oh, and did I mention how much I hate pumping?!

Any tips to help me out? I’d love to hear them!

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

