To Be Honest With You…

A few weeks ago I found out that I have gestational diabetes. I’ve been super hesitant to tell anyone and it’s lame. I have been ashamed that somehow I failed this baby by having diabetes. Especially since so many of my friends are pregnant right now or were recently and none of them had it.

In my head I know that feeling ashamed is absurd, but it’s hard to get past. I have always really struggled with my body image and this seems to have fallen into the same category. It’s hard not to be jealous of my super skinny friends or the gorgeous, thin moms I know.

I’m proud of myself for how active I’ve been and how I’ve been working hard to be healthy. It was just kind of a tough blow to find out about the diabetes. It seems like a bigger deal when there’s an official name for something you’re struggling with.

Thankfully, with a well managed diet (which really hasn’t been too hard) there are very few risks to the baby or I. The biggest risk is that if my blood glucose goes unchecked it can lead to a big baby which could increase my risk for c-section. So as long as I eat well, we’re good to go. I’d say that’s a pretty easy thing to manage in order to keep us healthy!

I also have to admit that testing my blood sugar 4 times a day is fascinating. The geeky, science-y part of me is loving learning what different foods do to my glucose levels. Poking my finger doesn’t bother me at all, and when they tell you that white starchy flours like pasta or tortillas are worse than oatmeal, they aren’t kidding! My glucose levels are different by 20-30 points depending on what I eat. It’s pretty crazy.

All in all I am so thankful that for all of the things that could have happened, I have Gestational Diabetes. It’s easy to manage and there aren’t really any risks to the baby as long as I keep my blood sugar under control. I’d say that’s not bad at all.

I’m also glad that I shared. I feel a lot better after being honest about what’s going on. The people I have told are super supportive and I need that support. Thank you.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

5 responses to “To Be Honest With You…

  • Melissa Wilson

    Thanks for sharing sweetie! It is ALL about diet!! Keep up the good work, you ARE such an inspiration to me with how awesomely active you have been during this pregnancy! Have you thought about going processed food free? I can’t say enough about how it has kept our family healthy, especially my husband, who has kept his weight off this past year and dropped 4 pant sizes and his blood pressure has been sooo stable! First time in our 8 years of marriage! I think if you did that, you wouldn’t have any more worries! It is amazing how much added sugar and salt is put into processed foods…you can’t go wrong with whole foods!!! Keep up the good work, you are not alone, diet is the way to go:]

    • onetechmom

      We’ve been working to cut out processed foods and this is helping even more. My hubby’s lost a lot of weight recently too and I’m actually really happy with how much weight I’ve gained this pregnancy. It’s weird to be eating better but still end up with diabetes. I’m just thankful that this is making me be even more accountable for what I eat.

  • Nicole Sanders

    Nothing to be ashamed of Megan! There are so many things that can happen in the crazy pregnancy ride beyond our control. You are doing what you need to do to stay healthy for you and the babe and that is all that matters. 🙂 Keep your chin up!

  • Jessica Howard (@quirkybookworm)

    Yikes – I think I might have a similar reaction. I was so scared with Eleanor that I’d have it – since diabetes is so prevalent in my fam anyway.

    Keep up the healthy eating!! Good job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

