Parents

Well, mother’s day was awhile ago and I just missed father’s day, but as we have actually started to be parents to C (other than just keeping him alive), I thought I would write about my own parents.

My mom is my best friend. I survived my teenage years unscathed, because I always had her to talk to. She was always there for me no matter what was going on and she was an amazing example of someone who trusted God to provide. Our family had a couple of tough emotional years when I was in high school and mom never stopped praying. She knew He would work everything out and He did. Watching her during those years taught me more than I could ever explain.

As I’ve grown up and gotten married and now started a family, she’s still there. We have our differences, but I love knowing she is supportive of me no matter what. We love to ‘argue’ about all kinds of things like how hippie I have become, but those are some of the best conversations. I know that even if she thinks I’m crazy or would never do things the same way, she is behind me 100%. As a new mom I have needed that support over and over again. I am constantly doubting myself and she is always there reassuring me. Without her support, I would be nowhere. Thank you!

I love her more than she could know.

My dad is the most amazing man I’ve ever met. I have never heard him complain about anything in his entire life. Not about working hard as a mechanic and often being injured, not about the joint and back pain I figured out later in life that he suffered from all the time, and not even about the fact that my mom picked out the paint color for his garage (it is pink!!!). Not only does he never complain, but he is patient and hardworking and the first one to help others. He is extraordinarily efficient and I am so thankful that I have the tiniest dose of that.

My dad has always been my hero. He knows when to be quiet (I wish I had more of that) and he knows when to speak up. He is a magic baby whisperer and exactly the type of man I want my boys to grow up like.

Thank you for being an amazing role model and showing me what a husband and father should be like (and thanks for saying yes to Damien, because he is just like you!).

Thank you for being my parents and for making me the person I am today. I love you!

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

2 responses to “Parents

Leave a Reply

