Running and Walking

Back in February, I ran my first race – a 10k. It was awesome and I’m proud of myself for actually doing it. I ran the entire thing and I don’t care that I’m slow. Since then I’ve found out that I’m pregnant with baby number 2. I didn’t want to stop running so I was impulsive and signed up for the 6 race, Flagstaff Summer Run Series. I’m only doing 5k’s but I’m just so happy to be active. During C’s pregnancy I could barely do anything. I was super out of shape and unmotivated. Sure I stood up on my feet all day to teach, but I wasn’t very active. Walking was tough, especially near the end.

This time around I’ve been so much more active and it has made a huge difference. Fit Moms Flagstaff has been a life changer for me. I know I’ve talked about Stroller Strides and probably mentioned Moms on the Run, but I just can’t be too thankful for them. I am 21 weeks pregnant and I can still run 3 miles! I’ve always been an athlete, but never much of a runner. Now, it’s tough, but I enjoy proving to myself that I can do it. Having to push myself physically gives me confidence in everything else too. The great moms that are part of the group are so encouraging and it’s so nice to know I’m not alone in this whole motherhood thing.

Another reason I love being so active is that C is officially a walker! He has been standing up on his own for several weeks and takes a few steps here and there. Yesterday afternoon/evening he stood up on his own and then walked across the living room. We cheered him on and he did it several more times. That was the first time the steps weren’t coerced from overly eager parents. I’m so excited!! I can’t wait to get to play with him in the backyard and let him actually play at parks now. He still is a little speed demon so crawling almost always wins out because he wants to go faster.

I really struggle with living a healthy lifestyle and more than anything I want to help C stay active. He is so curious about everything and so daring. I can’t wait for our new adventures.

Here’s to staying active and teaching my son(s) to love fitness too.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

