Milestones

Over the past week, Little Man has perfected crawling on his knees, become an expert at pulling up on the coffee table, couch, and anything else nearby, and now he is able to sit himself down from those great heights instead of just falling straight backwards. I have to admit that as a mom it makes me proud to see him do so much, but there’s a part of me that wishes it wasn’t so. Gone (they have been for awhile now) are the days of leaving C in the living room while I step into the kitchen for a minute. Soon I will be spending my time chasing him instead of him following me around. I love that he is doing so much, but I’m not ready for him to grow up!

All of this growing up is making me think about the things I will have to start teaching him. “No, my phone is not a teether, yes the dog bowl is fun, but probably not the best way to take a bath, and yes my hair is attached to my skull and it’s best if it stays that way.” Up to this point being a parent hasn’t necessarily consisted of much ‘parenting.’ We love him, feed him, rock him, play with him, etc, but we don’t have to tell him no or teach him lessons or anything like that. Being a middle school teacher required WAY more parenting than C has needed so far!

Even before I had C, I had been trying to get back in shape and focus on being healthier. I have always struggled with making smart food choices and staying active. When I got pregnant and especially now as a new mom, one of my biggest concerns is with teaching C to make good decisions when it comes to food. I also want to teach him to be active by being that way myself. The best thing I’ve done since becoming a parent was joining Stroller Strides. The ladies at SS have been kicking my butt and helping me get in shape. Finally, the motivation to get active and some awesome moms to push me to do better! Over the past few months I have been getting stronger and it is so nice to have some confidence in my body instead of wallowing in all of those crazy new mom hormones.

As of a few days ago, I signed up to run a 10k with many of the Stroller Strides moms and Moms On the Run. I am so excited to challenge myself to complete this goal. I haven’t run more than a mile since high school, so I have a lot of work to do. I know that by working hard I will be that much closer to teaching C what hard work can do. The best way I can think of to teach him is by example, so here goes one of the hardest things I’ve done.

Here’s to milestones for Bubba and milestones for me!

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

One response to “Milestones

  • Jessica @ Quirky Bookworm

    Wow! You are brave–10k is a long, long way.

    And, btw, sounds like you might have an early walker too! E started walking at 9 months…I was a bit jealous of moms who had more stationary (aka less exhausting) babies till 12 or 13 months! Maybe C will crawl for a really long time? 🙂

Leave a Reply

