Time Flies

Little C has been such fun lately. He’s turning into a real person who can play and communicate and be silly. Most of my day still involves just keeping him alive, but now there’s interaction. He can give kisses and hugs and ask for help. My favorite is when he finds his pacifier on a table or the couch and lets out this evil cackle of delight. When we catch him he gives us the biggest smile and laughs uncontrollably. He’s also started babbling about everything. He’s trying so hard to talk to us and it’s fun to just make up what he’s talking about. I love watching him explore the world around him.

Spending so much time with him has made this pregnancy fly by. I’m already at 29.5 weeks! I’ll be in the single digits soon. I am mostly excited to meet little brother, but I admit I’m nervous too. 2 kids? It’s going to be crazy. Inevitably, I’m not going to spend as much time with C. At least not 1 on 1. I’m a little sad about that, but I’m also so excited for him to meet his little brother. He loves his friend S and I think he’s going to be a great older brother.

I’m also nervous for the first few weeks after brother joins us. I was a wreck with C. I wouldn’t say I had post partum depression, but it was the toughest few weeks of my life. I guess I had always assumed the hard part was actually having the baby. No one warned me what the first several weeks were like. Between nursing issues and just the craziness of hormones, I would cry at the drop of a hat. If you know me well, crying isn’t really something I did – until I became a mom. I’m just so thankful for a supportive husband, family, and friends that help me realize I am the absolute best mom for my son(s). There’s no such thing as a perfect mom, but I am the best mom for my family.

If you are a new mom, remember you are the mom God chose for your kid(s). If you’re about to be a mom, don’t let those hormones convince you otherwise and don’t be afraid to ask for help and accept it when offered! If a friend just had a baby – bring them dinner (and don’t expect to stay), pray for them, and offer to help. I mean the no fun help – laundry, dishes, cleaning the bathroom, and holding the crying baby so mom can take a shower (well, that can be fun). Also, no horror stories to pregnant friends or new moms. What a terrible way to add stress to an already crazy time!

I still can’t believe I’m a mom at all, much less a soon to be mom of two. I am so thankful that God has blessed our family, and I am always praying that I can raise our kids to honor Him.

About onetechmom

A wife, mother, and above all someone who strives to live like Christ. View all posts by onetechmom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers

